براري تعزز القيمة التاريخية والفسيولوجية والجمالية والثقافية للبيئة الطبيعية.
المسؤولية البيئية لبراري
لقد ازّداد الطلب على المياه في إمارة أبوظبي بشكل كبير خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية، ومن الأسباب الرئيسية لهذه الزيادة: النمو السكاني، التنمية الاقتصادية المُتسارعة والتغيّر في نمط حياة المواطنين. وتعمل حكومة أبوظبي من أجل زيادة كفاءة استخدام المياه في المتنزّهات والحدائق والمناطق الترفيهية، وتهدف بذلك إلى خفض نسبة استخدام المياه حوالي 16% بحلول عام 2018 .

ويتطلّب تحقيق ذلك استخدام النباتات الأكثر كفاءة في استخدام المياه. وقد وافق المجلس التنفيذي لإمارة أبوظبي على قائمة من الشجيرات والأشجار المحلية لاستخدامها في الزراعات التجميلية، حيث قامت براري بإنتاج هذه النباتات في مشاتلها بكميات تجارية.
براري والمسؤولية المجتمعية
إشراك المجتمع من خلال برامج التعليم والتوعية البيئية يمثّل إحدى الأولويات الاستراتيجية للشركة. وتعمل براري لإدارة الغابات على وضع استراتيجية تعليمية بالتعاون مع مؤسسات حكومية أخرى. كما تعمل الشركة بالتعاون مع هيئة البيئة- أبوظبي، لزيادة التواصل وإشراك المجتمع من خلِال برامج ثقافية وتوعوية. كما تشارك براري مع بلديات إمارة أبوظبي في المناسبات مثل حملات النظافة في يوم الأرض. كما شاركت براري بفعالية، خلِال العامين الماضيين، في المناسبات البيئية بمدينة زايد.

وشركة براري على قناعة تامّة بأن التعليم والوعي يمثل جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الوفاء بالتزامها ومسؤوليتها في حماية البيئة والحفاظ عليها، ونعمل حالياً من أجل إنشاء مركز براري للتعليم، حيث يمكن نشر أفضل الممارسات البيئية وتعزيز نقل المعرفة للمجتمع. وتماشياً مع التفويض الذي نعمل وفقاً له، حرصنا مؤخراً على المشاركة في كافة الفعاليات التي تخدم المجتمع بطرق مختلفة، والتي من أهمها مبادرة "المنطقة الغربية دون نفايات"، حيث قمنا بتوفير المعدّات والقوى العاملة لحملة التنظيف.

بعد العواصف والأمطار الغزيرة التي شهدتها إمارة أبوظبي، في مارس 2016 شارك القطاعان العام والخاص في تنظيف ما يقرب من % 80 في مختلف أنحاء الإمارة. وشارك أكثر من 500 موظف من شركة براري في حملة تنظيف ما بعد العاصفة، حيث تمّ التنظيف ليلاً ونهاراً وذلك بالتنسيق مع الشرطة، مساندة ومركز إدارة النفايات إضافة إلى القطاع الخاص. وكانت براري واحدة من الشركات النشطة التي شاركت في تنظيف بعض المواقع المحدّدة في مدينة أبوظبي.
البصمة البيئية

يُعدّ ضمان الهواء النقي في إمارة أبوظبي أحد أولويات رؤية أبوظبي 2030 . وباشرت براري بخطّة طموحة لاستبدال المولّدات بمصادر طاقة خضراء أنظف. وقد وضعت الإدارة العليا خطّة لدراسة إمكانية استبدال مولّدات الديزل، حيثما أمكن، بأنظمة الطاقة الشمسية الفعّالة من حيث التكلفة، وذلك من أجل زيادة الكفاءة والحدّ من انبعاثات غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون عن طريق إنشاء أنظمة طاقة صديقة للبيئة.
 
مشاريع توفير الطاقة

تحتّل الطاقة الشمسية، كمصدر للطاقة النظيفة، أهمية متزايدة في خطط براري للحدّ من اعتمادها على وقود الديزل. ولهذا السبب، تعمل براري في عدد من البرامج لاختبار التطبيقات المختلفة، ومن ثمّ تعميم هذه التجربة على مواقع أخرى. وقامت براري باختبار نظام المصفوفات الضوئية التي تولّد الطاقة.
السماد العضوي

تعمل براري على برنامج لإعادة تدوير الكثير من نفايات الغابات بما في ذلك نواتج التقليم. وتتمّ إزالة كميات من المواد الخشبية من الغابات كجزء من إجراءات التقليم. وفي الوقت الذي يُستخدم فيه جزءاً من هذه الأخشاب في الغابات، يتمّ إعادة تدوير معظمها وتحويلها إلى سماد. وتقوم شركة براري بمسؤولية إعادة تدوير هذه النفايات.
 
تصنيع أنابيب البولي إثيلين المنخفض الكثافة للرّي

تمّ وضع هدفين لمصنع البولي إثيلين المنخفض الكثافة، الأول هو تصنيع أنابيب الرّي والثاني إعادة تدوير الكمّ الهائل من الأنابيب المُستخدمة. وقد دفعت الكميات الهائلة من الأنابيب المُستخدمة شركة براري لبناء مصنع لأنابيب الرّي الخاص بها من أجل القضاء على المشاكل البيئية المُترتبة على وجود الأنابيب التي تمّ استبدالها والبلاستيك، التي تتسبب في تلوث البيئة.
موجّهات تقليل استعمال مياه الرّي

كان للأبحاث التي أجريت من قبل الشركة آثاراً بعيدة المدى على أسلوب عملياتها في الغابات، لاسيما في الحدّ من استهلاك المياه ووقود الديزل. وقد قامت براري بتطوير مقننات مائية لرّي أشجار الغابات في ظلّ الظروف الصحراوية. وكانت الدراسات السابقة قبل عام 2013 لا تأخذ بالاعتبار الاختلاف في أنواع الأشجار، الحالة والحجم، التقلبات المناخية الموسمية، ظروف التربة ونوعية المياه.
 
مبادرات الصحة والسلامة

تعتبر براري بأن حماية البيئة والصحة والسلِامة المهنية في العمل أمر هام بنفس أهمية توفير خدمات عالية الجودة وقد تمّ تخصيص إدارة مسؤولة عن تلك الجوانب. وتضع إدارة الصحة والسلِامة نصب أعينها تحقيق هدفين أساسيين وهما: الوقاية من الحوادث الناجمة عن ظروف العمل من جهة، والحدّ من الآثار السلبية التي تنتج عن ظروف التشغيل من ناحية أخرى.

Barari Environmental Responsibility
barari promotes the historical, physiological, aesthetic and cultural value of the natural environment.
Barari Environmental Responsibility
Water demand in the emirate of Abu Dhabi has increased dramatically over the last five years and the main reasons are population growth, economic development and a change in the lifestyle of its citizens. Abu Dhabi Government is working towards increasing water use efficiency in their parks, gardens, and recreational areas. The aim is that, by 2018, there should be a 16% comparative reduction in water use.

In order to achieve this, it will require the use of plants that are more efficient in water use. The Executive Council of Abu Dhabi Emirate has approved a list of native shrubs and trees to be used in landscaping. Barari has produced these plants and made them available for the market.
CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
Engaging society through education is on the top of the company's strategic goals. Barari Forest Management is in the process of developing an educational strategy in collaboration with other government agencies. Currently, the company, along with support from the Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi, has decided to reach out and engage the community with sound educational and awareness programmes.

As we feel strongly that education and awareness is integral to fulfill our commitment and mandate to protect and conserve the environment, we are working towards establishing a Barari Learning Centre (BLC) where we can share the best environmental practices and promote knowledge transfer to society. In line with our mandate, we have recently been part of events that serve the community in different ways. One of them is the "Western Region without Waste" initiative wherein we provided equipment and workforce for the cleaning campaign.

After storms and torrential rain, almost 80 percent of the clean-up across the emirate of Abu Dhabi was complete as the public and private sectors worked together to deal with the damage caused by last March's extreme weather. More than 1,000 municipal employees were involved in the post-storm cleaning drive, cleaning day and night in coordination with police, Musanada, centre of waste management and private sector as well. Barari was one of the active companies which was involved in the clean-up of specified locations in Abu Dhabi city.
CARBON FOOTPRINT

One of Abu Dhabi's 2030 priorities is to ensure clean air for the emirate of Abu Dhabi. An ambitious plan to replace generators with cleaner sources of energy is being undertaken by Barari. The plan was initiated by the top management to study the possibility of replacing the diesel generators wherever possible by cost effective solar systems, in order to increase efficiency and reduce gas emissions by setting up an eco-friendly power systems.
 
ENERGY SAVING PROJECTS

Solar-energy as a power source is increasingly important in Barari's plans to reduce its dependency on diesel. For this reason, we have embarked on a number of programs to test different applications, which we then roll out to forests. The system that Barari investigated was photovoltaic arrays that generate power for water pumps to supply electricity to guard houses and for general lighting.
COMPOSTING PLANTS

Barari has embarked on a programme to recycle much of its waste, including product from pruning. Large amounts of wooden material are removed from forests as part of the maintenance actions. While some of this should be left as mulch, most of it is recycled and made into compost. Stonewings is a sister company of Barari and has the responsibility of recycling this waste.
 
LDPE PIPE FACTORY

The low-density polyethylene (LDPE) pipe factory has two main objectives; firstly to manufacture pipes for irrigation and secondly to recycle the vast amount of pipes that become obsolete. The vast quantities of pipe that Barari uses prompted the company to build its own pipe factory to eliminate environmental problems and animal mortalities caused by the disposed pipes.
Irrigation Guidelines

The research conducted by the company has far reaching impact on its operational procedure, particularly on the reduction of water consumption and of diesel fuel. It has developed a unique irrigating scheduling model for forest trees under desert conditions. Irrigation guidelines before 2013 did not account for variation in tree types, condition and size, climate variations in the season, soil conditions and water quality.
 
HSE INITIATIVES

Barari considers environmental protection, occupational health and safety at work as important as providing quality services and have a department responsible for these issues. HSE management has two general objectives: Prevention of incidents or accidents that might result form abnormal operating conditions on one hand and reduction of adverse effects that result from normal operating conditions on the other hand.